top of page
  • Modellenland

Interview: Photographer Remi Dąbrowski (Poland)

Tell us something about yourself

I live in Warsaw, Poland. I run a photographic studio. I decided to give up the corporate style of work a few years ago and I begun seeking individual fulfillment.

Apart from photography, sea sailing and music are my passions.

Happily married with a child.

How and when did you get into photography?

I begun to be interested in photography already as a teenager. Exhibitions, books, albums… At that time, the Internet did not exist for me, because it was simply impossible to access being a teenager in Poland. I bought my first camera a few years later, a Canon… and I’ve remained faithful to it ever since. My first photographs were of my schoolmates, the back yard, everyday life of the neighborhood. Beginner’s play. But I knew right then that I would like photography to accompany me throughout my life, not even considering it might become my future job. Lucky guy, right? ;)

What does photography mean to you?

Most of all - emotions, human emotions. Freezing time in a shot, capturing the moment.

Please briefly describe your photography style for our readers.

I am currently doing more studio work. I love people and interacting with them, so I concentrate on this kind of photography. People, their emotions, faces. Portrait photography, though popular, is extremely difficult. Establishing a rapport with the model, reflecting emotions or stirring them is quite a challenge. And I do like a challenge ;)

Where do you get inspiration from?

I read and look through many magazines, albums, including those issued many years ago. I feast my eyes on images created by people whom I admire for their work. This is what drives me to take further steps, to build up my professional abilities and to develop skills.

Do you think in advance what you want in the picture?

Spontaneous shots, which often result from the earlier planned effort, are my favorite kind.

In commercial orders everyone should know the aim of the project because it’s the most important thing.

With my original pieces I allow myself more spontaneity letting the team realize individual, and sometimes crazy ideas.

Studio, on location or both?

I started from street, feature photography. After opening my own studio a few years ago I begun focusing on studio photography and I feel quite well in these surroundings.

I do of course, for balance, try to take pictures outside once in a while, because I like to go back to my roots, play with light, landscapes, colors.

Would you consider yourself a hobbyist or a paid professional?

Definitely both options refer to me because I’m fortunate enough to be working realizing my passion at the same time.

I do commercial orders, private sessions. Sometimes, at free moments, which are hard to come by, I create my own sessions, for pleasure.

What has been your most memorable session and why?

I took part in an underwater sessions a few years ago. We were making a charity calendar to help sick children. I was still an assistant photographer then, the second photographer.

New work environment, a huge team and Polish film and music stars being photographed, a huge affair. Very hectic, but the effect and satisfaction were incredible.

What has been the biggest source of inspiration in your work?

Today - the Internet, but I do remain faithful to printed magazines and albums.

Nikon or Canon? Favorite lens?

As I’ve mentioned before, my brand is Canon, but of course I also appreciate competitors’ products. Favorite lens? Canon L 85mm 1.2

What is one piece of advice you would like to offer a new photographer looking to start their own business?

Patience, patience, patience and courage.

What do you think of our new magazine?

I enjoy reading your interviews with authors and participants of sessions. Because it’s not only the image that is important, but also the information about how someone carries out their ideas and projects.

Publication on a high level, clear artwork. Generally a big PLUS.

Model: MIA | Como Model Management mua: Agata Oz

Model: Lukasz Iwaszkiewicz

Model: Ewa Budny-Orlowska mua: Magdalena Jurczyszyn

Model: Anastasiia zaluzhniak hmua: Dominika Kostro

Model: Aleksandra Anna Lea Klejc / Miss Lapin hmua: Duda make-up

Model: Michał Skwarek hmua: Aneta Paulina Wawryca styl: Nana Leszczyńska

Model: Sylwia Koniuszy / Sylvia Ilioswasilema fotomodelka mua: Kaludia Kardashian Make Up & Lashes styl: Nana Leszczynska

Model: Kateryna Atamanova mua: Magdalena Jurczyszyn

Model: Urszula Swiecicka mua: Urszula Swiecicka

Model: Blous / Natalia Michalewska mua: Pink Mink Studio - Vegan Make Up

Model: Nefthis / Julia Wajnert mua: Agnieszka Wojciechowska

Model: Nefthis / Julia Wajnert mua: Agnieszka Wojciechowska

Model: Magdalena Kopik Mua: Klaudia Balko

Model: Aleksandra Wacyra hmua: Agnieszka Wybierek / Aga Wybierek Make Up & Hair Stylist

360 weergaven0 opmerkingen
Recent Posts
Naamloos-1.jpg
bottom of page